What do we know?

September 9, 2010

As promised, a blog post to summarize and synthesize what we’ve covered so far. So, in 200-300 words: what do you feel that you can intelligently say about writing and editing in print and online?

23 Responses to “What do we know?”

  1. In most of my classes the majority of our discussions surround technology and the media and its effect on journalism and text. I have come to the conclusion that while there are many who are quick to criticize this use of technology and convergence as negative, it is important to understand that fear and doubt will always accompany change. It is imperative to recognize both aspects positive and negative of this overwhelming surge of technology within the media, rather than constantly criticize it. Ultimately, there is nothing we can do to stop the increase of text technologies so we must embrace it and accept our gains and losses. Each mode of technology has specific potentials and limitations in regards to communication. You do not have to choose between the mediums text and imagery because you can now have both. In our society today, the media consumer and producer are able to communicate through many unpredictable ways that before would never have been possible. We as consumers are able and encouraged to constantly seek out new forms of communication. We are now immersed in a participatory culture in which there is no limit to whom we can make contact with. We are living in exponential times in which knowledge and information are readily available to us; in no way should that ever be seen in a negative light.
    Word count: 227

  2. W said

    I chose to write about the Rhetorical Situation. A Rhetorical Situation is the context of a rhetorical event that exists in three major subsets; these are the audience, the exigence, and a set of constraints.

    First of all, the audience must be capable of being convinced of something and willing to listen. The audience can be divided into two sets as well: particular and universal. A particular audience is situational and specific, whereas a universal audience can be open to any individual or group that can find interest in the subject matter.

    When examining the exigence, which is simply defined as a necessity of response or an imperfection marked by urgency, one must acknowledge that something is not quite right and there’s a pressing need to improve it. There are two types of rhetorical exigences: there are those that mature and decay, and others that are universal. The type that mature and decay have a shelf life, a defined window of opportunity that decides their importance and style of conveyance. The latter of the two is the universal exigence; these are timeless and carry meaning and decree across a vast and boundless spectrum.

    Constraints represent the little voice in the back of the rhetor’s mind that dictate what is appropriate and how it should, or shouldn’t, be communicated. They are the things that prohibit you from making certain arguments and doing things in a certain way. There are two sets of constraints that both exist within the audience and the rhetor. Both the audience and the rhetor possess a particular set of values and preconceptions that shape opinion; however, it is the responsibility of the rhetor to be aware of their own values and, in turn, to speculate or learn those of the audience.

  3. kea23 said

    When I came to Florida State and enrolled in the Editing, Writing, and Media major I was extremely excited to dive into the technological movement that is happening everywhere around us. I find it fascinating that media is literally at my finger tips whenever I want it. With the readings that I have had to do for this class as well as my other EWM classes, I discovered that many people despise this new technology and what it has done to media. This was baffling because it seems as though new media technologies have made us more connected to the world around us. Information has been made more readily accessible; top news stories can be viewed on cell phones with the touch of a button and books can be downloaded in seconds to your Kindle without you ever having to leave your house. Also, several types of media, such as: videos, sound, and writing, are converging to create a super technology that changes how we are able to process information. People are always afraid of the unknown and in the case of new digital technologies it is no different. There is no going back now; this is the technological path we are on. Once everyone begins to adjust it will all be changing yet again.

  4. connors23 said

    I’ll be the first to admit that at the beginning of last year when I changed my major from Creative Writing to Editing, Writing, and Media I had no ideas what I was getting myself into. I knew it was the “new age” of writing, but that was about all I could tell someone when they asked me what exactly I was majoring in. Two semesters later and countless professors later, I was still unaware of exactly what I was majoring in until I entered your class.
    Through all of our readings and class discussions I now realize that I am not purely majoring in just new age technology, but also how we got here as well as the advantages and disadvantages that we have faced in this transition and that we will continue to face. Many people are against the technological changes that are taking place, but why? As we learned in Kress’s piece, there are many gains as well as losses when it comes to letting certain technological advances into your life, but why should we let this stop us from actually embracing the technological changes that are taking place around us. There are gains and losses to everything that we accept into our life, and with every new advancement there is criticism. I feel that as EWM majors, it’s our job to kind of enlighten others about the technological advances we’re facing and show them that how they see things aren’t exactly how things have to be. There are more advantages than disadvantages to all the advancements that are being introduced to us; we really do have the world at our fingertips, and that’s something worth embracing.

  5. eliot7 said

    What do you think you can intelligently say about writing and editing in print and online (in 200 words or so)?

    I can say that I understand what this class is going to actually be about now. The first day in this class I had no clue what I was getting into; the course sounded cool so I signed up for it. The readings that we do in this class are so informative and interesting. I find most of them to be an easy read because they have all been on a subject I want to know more about. Kress’ two pieces Multimodality and Gains and Losses fully connect all the aspects of a WEPO class. Most of the early subjects we discussed I have learned before but I did not know the names for all of them. In a speech class I took last summer we covered the five cannons of rhetoric but we never called them that or credited Covino and Jolliffe for their great work. Writing, editing, print and online material all seem very connected at this time with all of the technology around us. Negroponte and Palfrey and Gasser seemed to find that very important to point out to us. Those authors along with Jenkis seem to be pointing this out to us for a great reason, almost as a warning. I don’t see it as a warning I see it as an observation. We are moving towards a more technological world of WEPO. I do not see this as a bad thing, just something that is happening now. If anything I would say this ‘shift to bits’ as Negroponte would call it is an awesome thing to see. I think this shirt will open up the WEPO area in our world and create jobs for students like all in the class who love working with technology and the English language.

  6. ttg09 said

    The way books, newspapers, and all print media in general, is presented to consumers is rapidly changing – that much is obvious. It’s easier, not to mention cheaper, to make books and newspapers available online than it is keep producing them in print form. Because of this, majors such as the Writing, Editing, and Media track at FSU are introduced into universities in order to prepare future generations for the inevitable change. Our generation is used to computers and technology, and we learn more every day, but we’re still not entirely prepared for a world where what was previously print media is essentially available only online. There’s ups and downs to everything. Non-book fans are probably thrilled about the change – pretty soon they’ll never have to go to the library again and look through musty old, boring books. For English majors, it’s probably a different story. We like musty old books. But whether or not the convergence is a good or bad change isn’t even really up for discussion – it’s happening, no matter if we like it or not. Newspapers can’t afford to stay in print and have an actual staff if their content is also available online. There are ways to slow down the change, of course. Newspapers, such as the Tallahassee Democrat, have started requiring monthly subscription fees in order to access the content. But, in the end, they’re just putting off the unavoidable change. More and more e-readers come out every day, and in a few years, there will hardly be any printed newspapers. Books will take longer, but eventually, more books will be bought as an e-text than there will be printed.

    (Tara Gonzalez)

  7. When first signing up for Writing and Editing in Print and Online, I did not expect what I got. I have learned some very eye-opening things about the digital world of words. Books may be one of the oldest forms of recording, but we have to keep up with technology. Writing is now done on laptops instead of notepads, and more people want to read their newspapers online than in print. I am a book junkie and do not like the turn of media, but it is really amazing how everything is being digitalized. Every little word can now be changed and formatted to millions of possibilities. PowerPoint, Prezi, and Wordle can do things with words that are so eye catching that you can not help but read them and be intrigued. We have traveled into the world of visual learning, instead of book learning. The feeling is overwhelming, like standing on the edge of the Grand Canyon and feeling absolutely insignificant next to the thing your facing. The digital world is like that scenario. It is overwhelming and scary, but we are learning how to shortcut and understand it. One day we may not even have to learn how to read at all, and the world may become audio, instead of visual as it is now.

  8. tlaine said

    What I’ve learned the most so far is the amount there is to learn about the writing in media and print, which far exceeds my expectations. The readings thus far have humbled me and highlighted my ignorance of the stark changes going on around me. Being born in the generation that is constantly being scrutinized has a much different perspective than those doing the analyzing and concluding. I take for granted the interconnectedness that has become entrenched in society today. It does not surprise me when my television tells me to answer a question as part of a survey the company is completing or when I google my favorite show (or even that I use google as a verb) to find more clips and directors notes. These instances are flying constantly under my radar as insignificant conveniences readily available and acceptable among my peers. So the greatest thing I have to learn is not so much a challenge of understanding but more an enlightment about my daily tasks that are in fact part of a worldwide phenomena. The most interesting to me is the thought of what is gained through these changes and what is lost; because I, after all, don’t know and will never know what has been lost for I can’t miss the good old days if I never experienced them.

    Taylor Gilbert

  9. Kevin Walisch said

    So far from this course I’ve learned a lot about my major and WEPO. It wasn’t until this class that I had a complete understanding of what exactly “rhetoric” is. I now know, thanks to Covino and Jolliffe, that rhetoric is the art of using language to communicate effectively. There are five canons of rhetoric: invention, arrangement, style, memory, and delivery. It uses ethos (character of the rhetor), Pathos (emotional appeal), and logos (reasoning) to appeal to an audience. Another interesting thing I enjoyed learning about was Bitzer’s “rhetorical situation”. A rhetorical situation is the context of a rhetorical event that consists of an issue, an audience, and a set of constraints. According to Bitzer, rhetorical discourse is called into existence by situation. One element of a rhetorical situation is an exigence, or a problem existing in the world that demands a response. However, an exigence is not rhetorical when it is something that cannot be changed by human intervention, such as a natural disaster. The second element Bitzer talks about is audience. Rhetorical discourse aims to promote change and persuade its audience. It also requires that this audience is open minded to the means of persuasion. The third element is constraints. Constraints are made up of persons, events, objects, and relations that limit decisions and action. These readings are making the effects of technology on our society more apparent to me. My peers and I are part of a generation of people that have grown up with digital technologies. We are, as Palfrey and Gasser would like to say, “digital natives”. In just these next few years, as we graduate and settle into a career, technology will advance remarkably. I feel that in today’s age, in order to be successful, it’s important to have the tools to use digital technologies to your advantage.

  10. Amanda Andary said

    Writing and Editing in print online is the future. This is all we will know in the years to come. It is our job now to perfect the nature in which this process works. By transferring different texts that are normally tangible into a place, such as the internet, is becoming more and more common. In this day and age our lives revolve around different types of technology. It is hard to even imagine what life might be like without using a computer or a cell phone for a day. Therefore, it only makes sense to have reading and writing go digital as well. Most things are becoming digital because it’s more convenient. They make it so easy to have any type of information at the touch of your fingertips. Why would you want to carry around a bulky book, when you have a device like the iphone that is smaller than your hand, and will connect you any piece of information you are looking for. Not only can it give you the information you need, but also other peoples comments, and a million other things that are related to the subject. That is why Writing and Editing in print online is so crucial.

  11. Abby said

    Upon entering this class I had never thought about the shift of technology as it pertains to media. I knew that less people were reading the newspaper and that more and more people were getting their worldly news from the Internet. So far this class has made me think about what people are saying and what their words mean. This class has also informed me how in this age of technology everything one types online and posts is permanent. Print and media online has also taught me about constellations and that one needs a mode and a medium to have their message made public. Print and media online is changing how the world interacts with each other and how the world receives, sends and comprehends information. Kids are starting to use computers at very young ages and they’re able to use technology better than their parents. Before this class I had never heard the terms digital natives, digital settlers and digital immigrants. Being a digital native I find it amazing just how much my generation takes their ipods, droids, and Mac books for granted. The trading up of technology is looked at as a positive movement but while you gain a lot you lose something in return.

  12. I’m currently taking WEPO as well as History of Text Technologies this semester and its really neat to see the correlations between the two classes. We talked in class this week about convergence and participatory culture. Part of Jenkins’ whole argument is that consumers in culture today actively seek out information in multiple media outlets. I found this funny because literally in HoTT today, Professor Treharne had the class discuss the Koran book burnings scheduled to take place this Saturday in Gainesville. She actually encouraged us to go and read about the event in foreign outlets to see how different people’s views are across the globe. We also talked in HoTT about how anyone can be a journalist nowadays if they have a blog, vlog, and/or a camera. What I’m learning about in both of these classes is proving incredibly relevant to the current day and the future.

    I guess what I’m trying to get at is that the way we consume and disperse news and information is definitely changing, and hence so will the way we choose to write and edit media. What all the writers we’ve read about so far have been saying is true: technological changes are coming, will continue to advance rapidly, and thus will change the way we live. Even in my lifetime, there have been so many technological advances. Growing up, my family had the local newspaper delivered to my house and I remember fighting over the comics section with my brother. Then suddenly in my teens, my parents stopped subscribing to the print version of the paper, and made the switch over to reading the newspaper on the web.

    Writing and editing in typical print mediums is becoming slowly more obsolete. I hardly know any person my age who reads a newspaper in print. Websites such as The Onion and TV Shows like The Colbert Report are the mediums of choice for how my generation consumes news.

    The world is changing and we must be open to changing with it.

  13. am3liam said

    I want to post a picture, it seems like it does a job of explaining better than I could; I’m not sure how though. I’m not going to lie, the rhetoric part of this class has been tough for me and a lot of things I don’t understand until after they’re reexplained a few times. I feel like the group activities and 5 A’s help to get straight to the point, when the text is simplified it’s easier to digest. This class is really helpful in the way that I have been reading in a different, new way and if I hadn’t lost my notes from last class I would use the word that described just that. The thing that keeps popping up in my head is the fact that we really don’t have any control over the direction media is going in. We can’t predict the future and technology is evolving every day. It’s interesting to me to think that I’ll be reading bedtime stories to my children off some sort of Kindle. I’m not sure how I feel about the paradigm shift that’s happening now, I’d love to say I’m one of those people that embraces change, but I’m not. People tend to resist change, but then again, we get used to everything. The only thing that is going to stay the same in this paradigm shift is that it is never ending, change is constant and the only stable part of the technological revolution.

  14. ctrehan16 said

    WEPO is not solely comprised of writing and editing in print and online, but that is what I like about it. Having attended all of the WEPO classes thus far, it is interesting that the class has evolved into much more than I had expected in terms of the more technological aspects that we are in the process of exploring. I am hoping to become more technologically savvy through this class. I have enjoyed the readings thus far because I feel as though we are hearing both sides of the argument for and against the evolution of technology. Some viewpoints are more cynical while others are optimistic about what the future of technology holds. This class is extraordinarily beneficial because it is relevant to modern times. Since the digital revolution is taking place it is crucial to expand our capabilities and this class allows that to happen. In Convergence Culture, Jenkins discusses the idea old and new media colliding in order to create something new. In a way, that is exactly what we are doing in WEPO because we are learning about old perspectives as well as new and combining them together to create a completely new outlook. We are a participatory culture in the sense that we are active in the digital revolution through performing simple tasks such as going to a website and posting a blog. WEPO not only allows us to learn much more about this revolution but it also informs us on how to deal with the transition from old media to new.

  15. Jamar Moore said

    My first three weeks (or lackthere of) in the Editing, writing, and media online class have been very educational. This is the one class that I know I will learn a multitude of terms that I don’t know each day. For example, the “rhetorical situation”. on the first day of class when the term was brought up I remember thinking “what the hell is that?”. I truly felt like an idiot, because I had no knowledge of the subject what so ever. Now, after researching the term, and finding out that it is a situation that involves a speaker, an issue and an audience. Along with rhetorical situation has to be included the three forms of persuasion (manipulation) ethos, logos, and pathos.In rhetoric, logos refers to different systems of reasoning, or working together to persuade an audience. Ethos reaches an audience by the speaker proving to be an authentic individual. Last but not least, pathos occurs when the speaker seeks to change the attitudes of the audience by playing to their emotions. While these three terms have different meanings, they come together to make what is called the “three appeals”. I’m not very good with computers, but I like the challenge that this class brings to me. In my future occupation, I will need to have superb computer skills, so what better way than to learn everything and have fun doing it. This is the class where you have to think outside of the box in order to fit into it.

  16. Keyla Cherena said

    Walking into class on the first day I honestly couldn’t explain to any of my friends what this class was all about. This isn’t hard to comprehend when we put it beside the fact that I still have a difficult time describing what my major is, and what rhetoric is even after taking the course. In essence I am a typical college student that either over-complicates the lessons learned, or oversimplifies them to an extreme. I took rhetoric with my own definition as “the history of words.” I am probably completely wrong, but it helps me get my mind around what the Editing, Writing & Media major tries to instill in its students, and why Writing & Editing in Print & Online is a required course.
    Within the Editing, Writing & Media major tries to ensure that its students are well informed, and well versed writers, editors, and/or whatever can be excreted from this Major. In my opinion, the Writing & Editing in Print & Online course teaches its students how to absorb new concepts and hopefully comprehend it to the point of it becoming second nature. This course then helps us, in a sense, re-teach what we have learned through new methods of technology that we might have not have already been knowledgeable on. Basically this course is helping us get ready for the “real world” and hopefully keep us from becoming struggling writers.

  17. James said

    Hello beta-readers,
    Look at your book, now back to your computer screen, now at your TV, now back to your computer screen. Sadly, the information in your book isn’t the same as on your computer screen. But, if your book stopped using the old and archaic medium of atoms and switched to new and thrilling bits, it can digitize its intellectual property and offer a new medium like that what’s on your computer screen. Look down, back up, where are you? You’re in a world where intellectual property is being shared, and the collective intelligence of its society fight for freedom within our world’s new participatory culture, using the mode and medium of their choice to express their discourse. What’s in your hand, back at me. I have it, it’s the power of converge with two tickets to that thing you love. Look again; the tickets are now new information. Anything is possible when your culture is open and accepting and constantly evolving its style of elocution. Check-out my rhetoric. I am just one ridiculously handsome topic, WEPO!

    BEWARE of media conglomerate control of our culture! Keep our ideas free. Make our community global!

    http://www.slide.com/r/7sVX8ZyE2j_WLnFS9DuESGi8uNWxuetl?previous_view=mscd_embedded_url&view=original

    • James said

      Link is to a slide show of some of the topics we discussed in class. I also wanted to show a few pics but i guess we can’t post any on this blog 😦

  18. sevbray said

    Technology is advancing faster than could have ever been imagined. Everyday, if you check the technology section of any newspaper you’ll discover more and more new technology. Personally, a lot of this blows my mind (even my iPhone still fascinates me). Pulling writing and editing along with it, we are experiencing a revolution of how we accept and process information. Twelve years ago, I barely knew what the internet was, let alone how to use something like Google or Ask dot com. Now, I can watch Bones on Netflix on half of my computer screen while writing a paper on the other half, all while checking Facebook and Huffington Post on my phone. I still see how ridiculously awesome all of that is. But it seems that, unless someone is taking courses such as we are, people do not think about this everyday, or at all for that matter.

    Sitting down and learning about the origins of text technologies. It’s amazing to think how far we come as a highly communicative species. We may not be living in dystopian times with holograms and wall in our rooms that talk to us, but we are coming up with some amazing, one thought impossible things. So I guess my one intelligent thing to say about writing and editing in print and online is that it’s a field that will never stop growing. Something that we’re learning today can be debated or changed by next year, or most likely irrelevant. It changes as the people change what they want. (I think that’s why Kindles and nooks will never replace paper books.)

  19. Katy M said

    Being in the major of writing, editing, and the media for only a couple of months now has gotten me to realize that technology and the digital realm is constantly changing and improving around me rapidly. There is much more to writing, editing, and media than meets the eye. There are modes and mediums to the daily things that we do in life which are sometimes pushed aside because they are involuntary. Such thing like image, speech, and music are affecting our multimodal teaching and discourse. Our epistemological commitment of learning about where our knowledge comes from is what I like about this major, because we can then take our knowledge and share it with others. I am not a professional at this major yet, but the things I have learned will ultimately help me not just be a better writer or editor, but understand the concepts needed to be a successful writer or editor.

  20. Kayla Mahnken said

    Having taken Rhetoric last semester I was already familiar with many of the key concepts that we’ve considered such as Bitzer’s Rhetorical Situation and the Five Canons of Rhetoric. This class so far has served to cement these ideas in my head and has established themselves as part of my permanent knowledge. I feel like I could definitely explain them both quickly and accurately on a cocktail napkin, which is a very satisfying feeling. I have learned about the digital age and have experienced the challenges encountered with the digital immigrants of the pre-digital era. I now understand that mode, according to Kress, are resources for representation and medium is the distribution of those resources and finally that constellation is the combination of your chosen mode and medium. I from Kress’ “Gains and Losses” that you must make an epistemological commitment in choosing your mode and medium. This means you must be willing and ready to work with what your mode and medium provide for you and also to lose the benefits of the modes and mediums not chosen. I feel that I have already learned so much from this class in such a short amount of time. I’m looking forward to building on this knowledge for the rest of the semester.

  21. Sloan Smith said

    The classes I have taken thus far in editing, writing, and media at FSU largely discuss the impact of the constantly evolving technology that surrounds all people involved. New jobs are being created daily while others are slowly dying out. Some implications of digitization are with every new/ converged technology the more we drift away from the need of traditional communication technology such as newspapers and magazines. Another interesting change made with communication in the fashion and media is the emmergence of bloggers. A new voice has come about that was never there before. Anyone can voice their opinion via creating a blog. With the internet, there is a big change with any sort of printing. Newspapers, magazines, and books are less and less needed due to having access to any sort of printed text online.
    Learning about the history of text and where it is going is a fascinating subject. In order to know where to go next we must look at the past and see how previous cultures were at first resistant to change, then accepting, and finally utilizing the new technology.

Leave a Reply

